In the past, lectures were the traditional method of teaching many students. Nowadays, new technology is increasingly being used to teach students. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this new approach?

Until few years back students were taught only in traditional class rooms where teachers would give them lectures. However, due to the increase in technology advancement, medium of teaching has transferred to online classes. I think this a boon for both students and teachers. Even though there are some demerits to this teaching method, the advantage of it outweighs the minor drawbacks which shall be elaborated in the following passages. To begin with, education is the corner stone of a nation's development. In order for the country to develop, every must receive proper education from certified professors. Schools and colleges ensure that teachers are well qualified to teach students and possess required knowledge to foster child's development. By attending regular educational institute, parents and guardians can be assured that their young ones are being taught by reputed legitimate staffs. For instance, In America, individuals who wish to pursue career in teaching must be ratified to complete teaching degree to become an educator. Having said that, on the contrary, I believe that online schooling has made it easy for both teachers and students to consume knowledge irrespective of where they reside. Another profound advantage is that students can have access to any school's library or resources by creating a log in account. In addition, students can clear their doubt by contacting any professors at their convenient time. Also, many universities offers online course where students can complete the syllabus at their own pace. Hence, there is no pressure of competition. This not only aids students, but universities also benefit's hugely from this method of teaching. Since, everything is fed online, there is no need for them to revise the portion every year, saving lot of time for the tutors. Furthermore, the institution does not have to spend money on rent, electricity or maintenance of the building. For instancne, 88% of schools and colleges in Chennai has reported that their expenditure was cut by 75% during COVID-19 as they continued teaching online. Despite the above mentioned upside, the downside of this phenomenon is that practical training such as chemistry and physics lab work can't be taught online and another disadvantage is that not everyone can afford internet and laptops. If, government and schools can provide students with free computers and net connection this issue can be rectified seamlessly. Overall, I believe online education is the way to go forward. Even though traditional schooling may give an assurance for parents that teacher are qualified, the same individuals can teach virtually without compromising the standards of lectures and the schools that gain profits from internet coaching can spend its money by giving students laptop and internet access for free.