In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

In today's digital age, there is a rise in customer who are curious, which lead to spend money on imported food more than local food. However, this can be tackled by increasing tax on imported food, including focuses of traditional food. It must be understood that having the curiosity can impact on customer's spending. This is especially so if the person who enjoy buying foreign production because imported food is alway suitable to their habit. In addition, curiosity make people misunderstanding about imported food that consumers think it is better than traditional food because of money cost. As a consequence, foreign food is bought by many people as a trend. For example, cherry fruit in foreign countries and orange fruit in Vietnam have the same of vitamin C inside them, but most vietnamese consumers choose to spend more money on cherry because of people's curiosity about cherry. Another argument worth considering is that government should increase tax on foreign product to improve the number of local food spending. When increasing tax, the individual may feel that foreign food is less attractive. Consequently, consumers decided to focus on traditional food, leading to the improvement of them. For instance, according to an article published in Vietnam in 2023, a majority of American food was out of date because of high tax that make customer did not focus on. In conclusion, curiosity is the most significant reason that impact on foreign food spending by customer. However, those problem can be tackled by govenment governments who increasing tax on imported food to manage traditional product.