The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement content that the greatness of individuals can be decided only by precedence rather than contemporaries is a complex and contentious one. While it is fact that the value of any greatness and acheivement mainly depends on the perspective developed later, it is also important to acknowledge that the contemporaries are playing a crucial role in reaching greatness. On one hand, impacts make differences gradually little by little, thus, it is often that people realize the importance after a period of time. For example, Van Gauge, one of the most famous artist in the history, yet his pieces are regarded as treasures only after decades he passed away. It takes times for precedence to understand the historical importance and the inspiration that he braught through his creations. On the other hand, it is worth noting that precedences are not the sole contributor to great achievements, the contemporaries also played a vital role in this process. It is the people and society around that has the ability to influence their decision and to shape their life experience. For example, without the suffering throughout Van Gauge's life, he might not be able to create such revolutionary creations, and we then might not be able to withness the later development in impressionism today. To sum up, the greatness should be attribute to both the contemporaries and the precedences. While the perspectives of precedences determines the latest opinions towards the greatness, the contemporaries are the ones influencing the great people and their decisions. Both is indispensible for contributing to the reputation.