In recent years there has been a considerable rise in crime committed by young people in large cities. What has caused this? What solution can you suggest?

Recently, the surge in crime rates amongst young individuals in large metropolises has become noticeably due to the rise in cost of living, pushing the vulnerable young people toward committing crimes. To solve this problem, the government could consider helping the young cope with city's live, by lowering rental expenses for those individuals, and organising career workshops to help they secure jobs. It is inevitable that living in a metropolis is increasingly expensive. For example, rental fees in big places such New York City or Sydney have doubled since last decade. Besides, it is competitive to find jobs as more people migrate to those urban areas for a chance to achieve a better life. Hence, it is difficult for young people, especially those who just enter the workforce and could not afford bare necessities to survive, and they are lured toward committing crimes such as thefts or burglary to gain monetary means. Additionally, the financial burdens could cause stress and depression among youngsters, turning them toward the act of crimes as a way to release their tension. In order to solve the issue, the government should step in and assist those young people. By setting up career workshops to educate as well as prepare young people for future jobs, the unemployment rate could be reduced, so will the crime rates. Moreover, policymakers could work toward a goal to reduce housing leases fee for young people, which can lighten up the financial burden on them and reduce depression incidents among the group. In conclusion, young people in big cities involve in crime following an increasing manner, owing to the inclination of living expenses in big city. To solve this issue, the government could aid in by reducing rental fees for such people, as well as holding career fairs to aid them in their jobs finding process.