Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both of these two views and give your own opinion.

It is undeniable that some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime, however there is no absolute agreement on whether the circumstances of a crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. The most common belief when it comes to deciding the punishment for a specific type of crime is overviewing the committed crime. That means, it should or it is matters what kind of crime the punisher did. We cannot deny that there is a various type of crime. Of course, it based on the level of it. For instance, robbery, murder, kidnapping, abuse and so on. So here the main point is, law mostly observes the type, to illustrate the murder. Killing is heavy crime which obviously leads to big consequences. The punishment for it, is prison for a long amount of time or for a life time. One the other hand, robbery should not be given same punishment as a murder case, due to its values in the eyes of law. Robbing is not considered as big as a murder crime; therefore, punishments should be fixed before addressing it. Another view of some people, the individual and the motivation of committing the crime must have been thought when deciding a punishment. For example, criminals might have done it because of the situation. They could have had had no other choice. Also, many cases have proof that, most people had not been aware of committing a type of crime because they do not have enough knowledge about it. After everything mentioned up, to conclude, in my opinion, while deciding the punishment, the type of crime and criminals potential should be taken into account.