More and more people want to buy famous brands in clothes cars and other items. What are the reasons behind this trend? Do you think it is a positive or negative development

In contemporary society, branded items are being purchased by more people. The writer of this essay argues that the core reason behind this statement is that humans are afraid of being left behind as well as wanting to show off their richness; therefore, this is a negative development as it can cause overbuying. It is undeniable how many large companies are exploiting the diversity of products to persuade customers to buy them. In other words, humans have the tendency to buy things that are new and aesthetic; therefore, some businesses are taking advantage of this to create unqualified products and overadvertise those to attract customers. Consequently, because of the fear of leaving behind in society, individuals tend to buy the products without carefully checking the quality. Take the Apple company as a prime example whose iPhone model has not changed a lot for the past decade but still sold over 230 million phones in 2023. Another reason why people are buying brand items is because they want to indicate their wealth. To simplify, as society is developing, the wealth gap is becoming wider so one will want to show that they belong to the affluent group of the world. As a result, buying expensive things and promoting extravagant lifestyles are ways to do that. However, it is the opinion of the writer that this is a negative development due to the possibility of overbuying. Further explaining, the goods may have bad quality and fall into disuse after being purchased which can lead to excessively repurchasing new ones in order to replace those that had been abandoned. Subsequently, the discarded items can not properly dispose of and remain wasted which a atrocious to the environment. In conclusion, because of fear and arrogance, people buy expensive things. Thus, this is a negatively developed statement.