Children nowadays watch TV programmes more than ever before. Is watching television good or bad for children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In this world of technology, the most influenced are adolescents who are spending a lot of time watching screens. Many argue that this habit has only disadvantages, while others disagree and believe that it is beneficial. In my opinion, it is extremely harmful especially for young children for their health and because of icreased rates of mental disorders. This essay will discuss the downsides of being addicted to TV shows by children. Firstly, increased amount of screen time is enormously detrimental for eye sights of young children, especially who are between ages 2- 6 years. For instance, a survey conducted by the opthalmology department of the John Hopkins School of Medicine revealed that; more than 37% of children who were exposed to television at age younger than 4 years ended up with decreased power of their eyesight and had to use spectacles along with eye drops to slow down the progressive worsening of their vision. Secondly, watching television for longer hours everyday has been associated with increased chances of deteriorating mental health. For example, while I was doing a research in the psychiatry department of the Aga Khan University Hospital, an international study was discussed which had an alarming number of children diagnosed with Attention Deficit Hyperactive Disorder because of spending alot of time on small screen. There are some who disagree and are of the opinion that watching TV shows are beneficial for children, as it improves their general knowledge and is a source of enjoyment after a stressful day at school. For example, they argue that children are able to disconnect from their daily school routines and feel better and more encouraged to study harder once completely relaxed. To conclude, even though some oppose the disadvantages of TV, I would reiterate the injurious affects of watching programmes on box screen for preschoolers and primary school chidren because of harmful affects on their eyes and mental well being.