Nowadays in some countries children are given fewer responsibilities compared to the past. Some people believe it is a positive development while other argue otherwise. Discuss both views. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

On the one hand, supporters of this idea refer to the fact that pupils who are assigned more responsibilities tend to be prepared for more critical situations. In other words, if students learn to simultaneously accomplish more than two works, they will unintentionally learn critic management and problem-solving skills. In the United States, for instance, schoolchildren are given some tasks regarding some existing issues and they would be given extra marks if they were able to solve them. The other viewpoint of this group is that, taking children seriously and entrusting them with responsibilities can cause children to show a considerable amount of creativity and thus motivation; consequently, pupils with higher levels of creativity and eagerness will have a better academic function. In Japan, as an example, according to a survey, pupils who were a part of an important task showed a remarkable increase in their performance. By contrast, opponents of this idea point out that giving pupils more responsibilities will contribute to their weaker performance at school. This is because, their excitement for doing specific tasks may distract them from their educational scopes. A student who is supposed to fulfill two or three tasks might face lack of time and it might lead to his academic underperformance. Secondly, according to this belief, pupils are still in the process of learning and are required to be considered novices. Therefore, it is better schoolchildren concentrate on their education path and prioritize their learning targets. In Japan, for instance, students are not given extra tasks or responsibilities because it is believed that these extra tasks are potential sources of distraction. In conclusion, after considering both viewpoints, it seems advisable that children should be encouraged to concentrate on their education; however, giving more responsibilities to children potentially opening a pathway into more serious tasks later on.