Some schools are very strict about their school uniforms and the appearance of their pupils, while other schools have a very relaxed dress code. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children of having a school uniform?

Some schools make it compulsory that students should wear school uniforms whereas some schools disagree. This essay will state the merits and demerits of having school dress code imposed on students. Advantage is equality and representation of the school. Disadvantage is that it is less comfortable for students and it is an extra expenditure. Main pros of strict school uniform order, equality among students and students are able to display the school ’s image outside the premises. All students wearing the same uniform will eliminate them from being treatment unfairly, despite coming from a poor or middle class or a rich family. For example, in my country, in all schools it is mandatory to wear uniforms and it is evident that students treat one another with respect. Moreover, another benefit is that uniforms represents and markets the school. This can be used as promotion and drive more attention to the schools. During sports events, if pupils wear uniforms it will be recognized by spectators. Despite the advantages there some disadvantages such as, uniforms are an extra expenditure and it is less comfortable. It costs a lot to buy them and having one uniform isn’t enough so students have to buy a few. As school stationaries are getting expensive, money spent on uniforms could be used for this. Also, uniforms are uncomfortable and students are not able to wear what fits and suits them. In conclusion, justness amongst pupils and representation of the school can be advantageous it is important to note that it be expensive and unpleasant.