In order to be successful in sports, some people think you have to be physically strong. Others say that mental strength is more important. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Sports activities are becoming more and more popular nowadays. National athletes are one of the factors why sports gaining massive popularity. However, there are different views from society stating that in order to have a successful career in sports we need to be physically strong while others said mentally strong is more important. In my opinion, rather than focusing only on one side, we need to maintain the strength of both physical and mental. This essay will elaborate more on this topic. On the one hand, sports competitions mostly evaluate participants by their speed or power. Hence having a stronger body and endurance than our opponent means that we will have a bigger chance to win. For instance, Karate is a martial art which is done by putting 2 participants in an arena to fight each other. If someone has better defence energy or can punch stronger than the other, then he is most likely gonna be the winner. Thus, having a strong body will help them to win. On the other hand, sports not only rely on physical strength but also on strategy. Most sports done individually will rely a lot on someone's mental. For example, a badminton player, Ginting, has played for Indonesia's national team for a long time and experienced ups and downs throughout his career. He ever said that he was defeated in a competition because of a problem in his daily life which is his mother's sickness. This affected a lot to his mental condition, making him could not concentrate while training and end up lost in the competition, That is why he hired a psychologist to fix his mentality and go back to the competition. To sum up everything that has been stated so far, I strongly agree that being healthy physically is important but in order to be successful we need to balance it with good mental health.