Science gives people life expectancy of close to 100 years or even more. Some people view it in a positive light, but others believe it creates some problems. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Science and technological advancements have made people able to live a longer life; although, this is thought to have harmful consequences, many people believe that there are some positive points about longevity. This essay will discuss both viewpoints. On the one hand, supporters of longer lifespans point out that individuals who live longer are able to experience a persistent relationship with their children and even grandchildren, which is a precious grant. It means that everyone can touch the feeling of having his beloved people by his side for a longer period of time, which is somehow valuable. In India, for instance, according to a conducted survey, people expressed their deep longing for the increase in lifespan as they will no longer miss their beloved family members. Secondly, if people knew that they were supposed to live longer, they would make more effort to pick up a healthier lifestyle. In fact, being aware of having a longer life opportunity, a person will strive to keep the quality of his life in higher rates in order to have a quality life in older ages. By contrast, the opponents of increased life expectancy refer to the negative drawbacks that it may bring about. This is to say, if a considerable percentage of human beings could stay alive for about 100 years, the average age of the world's population would be around 60 years old. Therefore, it should be expected that elderly people take the responsibility of accomplishing some significant positions; however, people from these ages are likely to be less productive and creative. Moreover, the other negative point that is worth considering is that senior citizens are required to be cared, meaning that even a healthy person at the age 80 is more vulnerable compared to a person who is in his 30s. As a consequence, it seems that his increased life expectancy might have some remarkable downsides. In conclusion, after considering both viewpoints, I am inclined to believe that excessive life span can lead to numerous serious problems in societies; therefore, it would be better if scientists concentrate on more prior and critical subjects.