Many students have trouble being able to focus on school studies, with their attention span increasingly deteriorating. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Many students easily lose concentration on school studies as their attention span keeps decreasing over time. The reason behind this issue is mainly due to the smartphone screen time has increased dramatically. Involvement from parents is the most crucial thing to solve this issue. The main reason why many students lose focus easily is due to the increase in smartphone usage. Most of the applications on smartphones use push notifications feature in order to get the attention of students, which makes students distracted. For instance, two of the most used applications by students, TikTok and Instagram, have an algorithm that offers specific topics that students are interested in, such as gaming and automotive. Then, those applications send push notifications to students ' phones with the objective of getting the attention of students. If the push notification arrives when the students are studying, huge chance students will be distracted and end up playing with their smartphones. In terms of solutions, involvement from parents is the most crucial part of solving this issue. Smartphone features, such as parental control, can help parents to limit screen time as well as the content that served on the students ' smartphones. For example, parental control can control the students ' smartphones to block any access and push notifications from TikTok and Instagram during school time, so the students can put all their focus on school studies. In conclusion, the increase in smartphone screen time plays a big part in the decrease in students ' attention span. Parents play an important part in solving this issue by limiting the screen time of students.