Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars

Over the past decade, traffic jams caused by cars have become a major concern in people's lives. This worrying trend needs to be analysed thoroughly to tackle this issue. It is argued that one of the significant reasons is increasing car ownership among the population. I strongly agree with the latter opinion. Therefore, this forthcoming essay will discuss other alternatives to cars, and other regularities that can be introduced by the government. On the one hand, one of the primary solutions that government could undertake to decrease traffic jam is offer public transportations. In other words providing people with bus stations and metros will effectively reduce the crowdiness on the streets. For instance, if a family composed of 5 members choose to use public transportations for their daily endeavors, less cars will be used. Moreover, if government starts launching metros to travel from one state to another in the same country, people will be more inclined to use the metro, as they will be more motivated by the notion of reaching their destinations earlier. On the other hand, governments can encourage the installments of means that will enable car owners to have more smooth driving. For example, if the governments place the order of installing a bridge, accessibility in navigating from one area to another will be facilitated. Also, paving some roads as well as widening them, could allow more cars on the streets, and in that way no invasive measures are needed. For instance, placing a bridge will ease navigation from different sides. Moreover, a widened road will be able to handle more cars, whereas narrow will allow less cars which will eventually lead to traffic jams. In conclusion, increasing number of car owning have led to traffic jams, which can be avoided by the governments issuing some regularities that relate to the road and offering public transportation to people to discourage them from using cars. Moreover, increasing awareness among people to use public transfortation is recommended.