Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is a common belief among many people that commercials are very important for the sale of a product. Conversely, others believe that it has lost it’s appeal due to overuse. I think, though traditional advertisement has lost it’s edge to some degree, new form of marketing has taken it’s place. This is the age of internet, the age of connectivity. People do not watch televisions any more, they consume their news and entertainments from Tweeter, Facebook and YouTube. As a result, traditional advertisement is ineffective now. However, commercials in the internet, specially influencer marketing, have gained traction. A brand deal with a celebrity who has huge followers can be very profitable for a company, even more profitable than traditional advertising. Such an example is the partnership of Nike with Lionel Messi to launch a new shoe back in 2015, which attracted so many people, that the inventory sold out before even launching, due to preorder. On the other hand, advertisement overall has less effects on people. Previously, people used to take their purchasing decision based on the commercial. They gathered information by listening to it carefully in the telivisions television and read it throughly in the newspaper to learn about the pros and cons of a product. However, with time companies flooded general public with so much advertisement that it’s effect has dulled. The fact that, these companies overpromised and sometime downright lied, didnot help either. For example, BOSE advertised there MT05 speaker as a revolutionary sound system. But consumers who bought experienced frequent sound issues and failures. To conclude, traditional marketing has lost it’s place. But new form of advertisement is still effective if it is executed properly.