In advertising nowadays, businesses usually highlight and emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why do businesses practice this? Do you think this development is a positive practice or a negative one?

The content of advertising industry has evolved significantly, over the past decades. While in the past almost all of focus of businesses was on emphasising on the high quality of their products, thses days most of them aim to attract customers by bolding the new and unique features of their goods. This essay discusses the underlying causes of this trend and my point of views regarding the influences of it. First and foremost, in this technology-driven era with the emergence of sevral high-profile businesses, competing just in terms of quality, has become difficult for companies. Thus they have to entice people by highliting the innovative and peculiar features of their merchandise. This appeal to novelty taps into a psychological phenomenon known as the "novelty effect," where people are more likely to be attracted to and interested in something new and unique. Taking Samsung and Apple two giant companies in mobile phone market, as an example, which both produce best quality phones, worldwide. They will not overcome each other, unless they offer unique advancements in thier new mobile phones. While this emphasis on newness can drive sales and innovation, it also has potential drawbacks. One negative aspect is the encouragement of a consumer culture characterized by constant upgrading and disposability. This can lead to increased waste and environmental harm as consumers frequently discard perfectly functional products in favor of newer models. For example, the fast fashion industry is notorious for producing clothing that is quickly discarded, contributing to significant environmental pollution. To conclude, the practice of emphasising newness in advertising has increased as a result of increase in market's competitiveness. It has potential negative consequences, such as promoting a culture of disposability and misleading consumers, which is discussed above.