The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

Fuel has become increasingly prevalent in today’s globalized world. Analyzing the ever-increasing demand for fossil fuels, many countries have now slowly started thinking about implementing laws to reduce our dependence on fossil fuels and encourage the use of alternative forms of fuels. From my context, I would contend that any potential advantages of these actions by governments will significantly outweigh the disadvantages in the long run. First and foremost, the burning of fossil fuels is the main reason for global warming. The effect of global warming is widely felt across the globe today. Temperatures around the world are on a steady rise and the current pace of Ice melting at the poles is the best example. Whether conditions have become more uncertain and unpredictable today. To illustrate an example: - The frequency of prolonged severe climatic conditions has doubled over the years. In addition, events like La-Nina are now being witnessed quite frequently and for a longer duration, all as a result of global warming. Furthermore, the burning of fossil fuels does not just pollute the air. Cargo ships emit massive amounts of unchecked greenhouse gases into the environment, the damages do not stop there, the movements of these massive ships create a lot of harmonic noises within the ocean waters, seriously harming sea life. To add further, as per a recent survey by “Trans Atlantic”, a global shipping firm, the fish population has been on a steady decline over the years in areas that once had fish in abundance. In conclusion, I am convinced that the burning of carbon fuel is the direct and sole reason for the destruction of the environment, the only way to stop this is by massive reduction of the use of petrochemicals and their various byproducts. Heavier taxes and constant monitoring of the usage of such fuels will be the most effective way to mitigate the shortcomings.