In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Some people claim that encouraging children to work hard to reach their goals is a must in this modern-day, while others have a different view on that. The following essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this point. Firstly, one of the advantages is that people believe that giving this message to children can gain their confidence. Children need a lot of positive support at their age. Giving mental support can let them know that they have the ability to accomplish their goals and can motivate them to stay consistent in their work. Moreover, children can also have a chance to learn new skills if they are encouraged. However, there are also some shortcomings. For one, it may force children to have unrealistic goals, they will get disappointed and exhausted after putting in their best effort but still can not see any progress. This will strike their confidence, even leading to afraid of trying new things in the future. In addition, children may also have a thought of adults are lying to them due to the unrealistic encouragement, consequently, they will not easily trust people when they grow up. In conclusion, although there are lots of positive effects of giving this encouragement to children, some negative reactions may also occur. I think it is important to give moderate support, guiding children to set up their goals, while simultaneously telling them about the possibility of failure to afford them seeing success as a guarantee.