Some people think that we sould replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

One school of thought holds that the old buildings as well as the accommodations should be replaced with modern ones, while others believe that the local authorities should protect those outdated buildings. This essay attempts to shed light on both the merits and demerits of this tendency before concluding that I am in favour of the former notion. On the one hand, keeping old construction could be advantageous to a certain extent. Firstly, schools could use this establishment to teach their children about the history of this country. To be more specific, these kinds of ancient facilities could bring history to life, giving students immersed ways of learning that are easy to approach. Secondly, these old buildings could attract more tourists to the areas they belong to. This is because it could draw the attention of visitors who are fond of history and want to gain more knowledge of the indigenous practices of the locality in that nation. Thanks to those places, this country could attract more foreign visitors, which could directly enhance the economy in this area. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that the aforementioned benefits pale in comparison with their drawbacks. One key rationale in favour of this view is that it could be a financial burden for the government to maintain these structures. This enormous cost incurred to preserve old buildings and houses could put a strain on the government's coffers, thereby leading to tax hikes, tax deficits, or even reduced social welfare. As a result, ordinary citizens, especially the underprivileged, would even struggle more to make ends meet. Another justification is that these constructions could occupy a piece of vacant land. Consequentially, there is not enough space for different industries and factories, or even space for building a new residential area for the inhabitants, leading to a land price crisis and people with low salaries not having a place to live. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that keeping old buildings and accommodations could have some upsides, the downsides that it offers are more significantly noteworthy.