In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than produced locally. Why people buy imported food?What could be done to encourge people to buy local food?

Nowadays, many people prefer buying imported food to purchasing local food. This author believes that people choose food imported from other countries due to its standards. However, this can be solved by improving the quality of products. It is obvious that food from overseas countries is consumed more than locally. There is no doubt that the censorships in other countries are stricter, thus the food ’s quality is ensured to be safe for the consumers. Consequently, they have little interest in local food, leading to low consumption of domestic food. A good example of this is that strawberries planted in America are safer and bigger than in Vietnam, that is why they have higher consumption than in Vietnam. It is a complex issue but can be dealt with by local improvement. It is evidence that the locals often overlook the process of manufacturing, which is the most imperative step to ensure quality. Thus, the safety level is not assured and cannot gain the trust of the buyers. Hence, strict censorship should be responsible for domestic food before being allocated to improve the responsibility of businesses to the community and develop the nation’s food market. The best example of this is the pomelos in Vietnam are bought a lot by local residents because of their safety and taste. Taking everything into account, domestic food is less purchased than foreign food because of the safety and quality of products. However, it can be addressed by local strictness in the manufacturing process.