Some business observe that new employees who just graduated from a college or university seem to lack interpersonal skills needed for communication with their colleagues. What could be the reason for this? What solution can help address this problem?

It is often believed that young employees who just graduated from college and university tend not to possess interpersonal skills that are essential to communicating with co-workers. Their growing reliance on digital tools and independent lifestyles contributes to this problem. Opportunities to learn soft skills as well as interact with others through various activities should be promoted. The primary reason for a lower level of interpersonal skills among young workers comes from the incredible amount of time they spend on electric gadgets these days. In other words, they are often addicted to them, avoiding meeting with other people. For instance, they are more likely to prefer spending time watching YouTube and playing online games, from which they are able to acquire special knowledge and skills of their own interests. This leads to their poor communication skills and even apathy toward others. Consequently, companies are required to provide more practical lessons where young workers can learn the importance of verbal skills so they can cooperate with each other as they are better able to understand their mutual needs and problems. Another significant factor for the deteriorating interpersonal skills of young employees is their increasing independence from their earlier age. Indeed, more children are provided with their own room before elementary so they can be more responsible for managing themselves. However, this leads to fewer opportunities to interact with family and discourages their communication skills. Furthermore, they tend to feel uncomfortable in expressing their idea and emotions as they have a more separate lifestyle from their parents and brothers. Therefore, it is increasingly essential for industries to hold exciting events such as sports festivals and BBQ parties to establish more intimate relationships with colleagues. Thus, they are more motivated to engage in a conversation and have more interest in people working in the same company. Moreover, the ability to make a proper word choice depending on whom they are talking to will be improved with the accumulating experience to interact with others in various situations. In conclusion, the increasing amount of time that young workers spend on their electric tools and their growing isolation are critical reasons to lower their interpersonal skills. In order to solve these problems, companies are expected to offer educational opportunities for them to learn conversation skills and hold some exciting festivals and parties to make it less stressful to talk to various people.