In the future, there will be a higher proportion of older people than younger people in many countries. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In the coming years, the proportion of younger people will be less compared to older people in many countries. This essay will discuss, firstly decline in birth rate and secondly, the negative side of this phenomenon, followed by the reasoned conclusion. To commence with, it is noticed that there is a shortage of birth rate in recent years. It means that the young generation is not eager to give birth and it has an impact on the future population size. People think more about their well-being and financial stability before having children and it causes either a reduction in birth or a refusal to have children. For instance, the birth trend is decreasing in Europe from day to day. According to Eurostat, 35% of the population in Europe are old people and it will increase gradually. The negative side of this development is that there is labour deficiency. In other words, from the future perspective, it can provide serious problems such as a shortage of staff in many vital fields that can lead to economic crisis. Moreover, it can also violate family values and people will no longer want to have children. As an example, in the United Kingdom, there was recorded the lowest birth rate in 20 years and it is already facing a scarcity of labour. Scientists say that in the future the UK may have economic crisis due to the low birth rate. To sum up, the proportion of the old generation will increase more than the young generation because of the low birth rate that can lead to labour scarcity in the future.