In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices, and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

City planners usually organise infrastructures according to purpose. This writer thinks the lack of vibrantness in such cities and increased cost for daily transportation outweigh the advantage of productivity it would bring. In the first place, the mixed amenities in metropolitan places are what made up the uniqueness of the whole area. What is more, social aspects of the zone would be more likely to expand as there are more buildings that serve both the need for leisure and commercial need. This can easily be seen in places like Paris or London, which are all successful and developed urban areas that offer lively living environments. Thus, raising the satisfaction of current residents as opposed to an only purpose accommodation neighbourhood. The next thing about specific areas would be the rising cost of moving between destinations. Because a wide zone is dedicated to a certain aspect like workplaces or residential housing, people would find it inconvenient in travelling. This is the complete opposite to places where the amenities differ, for instance, office workers could visit the local store on their way back home without needing to travel long distances. With that being said, having a variety in metropolitans is one of the crucial things. Taking all points into consideration, it is evident that the specific arrangement of buildings would decrease the livelihood and bring inconvenience to such crowded sites like big cities and it outweighs the benefits. In conclusion, urban architecture should consider the planning of multiple types of infrastructure to ensure the satisfaction of citizens.