Sport is one of the most draws on television today. Some people argue that the practice of showing sport on television is to blame for the poor health of the young generation by encouraging them to watch rather than partake in physical activity. To what extent do you agree wit this view?

Sports programs are excessively aired on television. Many individuals support the notion that watching sport on TV contributes to youngsters show reluctance to do exercise; however, I hold the conviction that mental health can be a vital feature leads people to stay motivated to do sport. On the one hand, supporters of this belief point out that doing exercise and experiencing excitement can similarly release hormones of happiness into body. It means that, if a person aims to achieve this feeling, he should be physically active. Therefore, audiences of sport on television get excited and their bodies' demands for happiness hormones are satisfied; consequently, they will lose their interests in the physical activities. In the United States, for instance, a survey conducted in 2023 showed that 40 per cent of younger generations reported they had high level of excitement watching sport programs on TV and therefore they did not consider it required to do exercise to get feeling of cheerfulness and thrill. Conversely, opponents of this idea refer to the fact that there are more determining factors that might be effective in people's attitude towards being physically active. In other words, mental health and time are thought to be more serious deterrent reasons. A depressed person, for instance, struggles with some internal and mental problems, which make him physically fatigue and unable to have a routine for doing exercise. An individual who is also forced to work eight hours a day, will not be able to dedicate enough time to staying active. As a consequence, watching sport on TV has nothing to do with these group of people's motivation to do sport or function physically. Let us take the UK as an example, where 60 per cent of those who are not at an appropriate fitness level, blamed their time limitation as the main reason of their laziness and underactivity. In conclusion, after taking the aforementioned points into consideration, I am inclined to believe that, although lower level of physical activities are due to the increased broadcast of sport programs, more remarkable factors encompassing lack of time and mental health should be known as reasons for decreasing sport activities.