Some people say that what children watch on television influences their behaviour while other say the amount of time children spend watching television influences their behaviour. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are various opinions concerning the influences of watching TV on children. Some people argue that it is the television content that impacts children's behaviors, while others maintain that the time spent watching television accounts more. This essay will explore the two perspectives and present my own opinions. Many people suggest that television content has a significant impact on children's behaviors. First, children are susceptible, thereby tending to imitate what they have seen on programs. To illustrate, watching cartoons with violent elements may make children more aggressive. Moreover, related research also suggests that children who have been exposed to media with violent content show more aggression than those who have not. On the other hand, some people insist that it is the time spent watching television that matters. From their perspective, the excessive use of screens may lead to negative behaviors such as reduced physical activity and a lack of social skills. For instance, children who spend too much time watching TV may not have sufficient time to exercise and engage in social interactions. According to research, children who spend too much time on TV programs are more likely to suffer from obesity and academic failures. In my opinion, although both TV content and the time spent watching TV influence children's behavior, the influence of content is more essential and direct. While it is undeniable that excessive screen time brings long-term adverse impacts, the negative impacts of inappropriate content are more immediate and profound. Therefore, parents should pay attention to both the content and the amount of time their children spend watching TV to ensure positive guidance and management. In conclusion, both TV content and the time spent watching TV affect children's behavior. Although excessive screen time brings long-term adverse influences, the impacts of inappropriate content are more immediate and profound. Therefore, parents should pay attention to both the content and the amount of time their children spend watching TV to ensure positive guidance and management.