Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternatives ways to decrease crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whether longer jail time helps diclining crime rate has been a controversial topic recently. This writers argues that education and financial support are better way this address this problem althought some people think that the time is too short. It is vital to understand that solving economic problems can be the better way to decrease crime. In other words, law-breaking actions now mainly come from the the economic situations since the cost of living become more and more higher while with some people, especially ones with low income or educational level who are already stuggling to make ends meet so they do not have any other choices but commit crimes. Therefore, if the goverments government can resolve financial problem, for example offering more jobs, the percentage of criminal will see a downward trend. However, some people believe that the current prison sentences is insufficent. Simply put, the time in the prison in this time is not enough for criminal to think about the actions that they made and when they are released they will repeat that. Additionally, increasing the time for jail for about 2 - 3 years or may be permanaent can be a great deterent for people having intention to commit crime since no one want to waste years of their life to live in such a bad place. This might be true if we do not solve the roots of why they do the crime, when they return to the society, they still have the motivation to do it so the rate will not change. This is the writer's opinion that providing good education is a really effective approach. That is to say, when people were well educated since they were children, they will have a clear definition and distinctive line between good and bad things so that they will never step into the criminal life. For example, a theft named Robert said that when he stole the dress for the first time his mom not only did not criticized him but also encouraged him to steal more and that made him become a theft. If his mom stopped him at that time, he would not be in this situation. In conclusion, enthough though there are some people believing that extent the jail time will make the crime to go down, it is more effective to attack financial issues and promote the education.