It is believed that a year off between school and university could be advantageous for school leavers. To what extent do you support this view?

It is said that taking a year off between school and university is beneficial for school graduates, I personally agree with this statement to some reason, and I will explain why in this essay. On the one side, it is true that young students are very likely to encounter several difficulties when delaying their university study. One of these problems is the delay in academic progress caused by spending one year off school. It is understandably almost impossible for young people to enjoy their experiences in doing a job or traveling to a new place but still arrange a certain amount of time for revision. As a result, gap- year takers may have to face the challenge of becoming familiar with the knowledge at school again, receiving more pressure of catching up with their peers. Besides, the life out of university campus may prove to be mentally and physically overwhelming for inexperienced school leavers. They, for instance, may be at risk of being exploited in an exhausting job or face potential dangers on their trips to a new country. If not well prepared for such possible obstacles, young high school graduates can suffer from unintended consequences. On the other hand, we should consider various benefits that a gap year is an ideal opportunity for students to learn about what is not taught at university. Working with other people who are experts in a particular field can give these newcomers not only understanding of the job but also valuable practical lessons to help them become more mature. When it comes to applying for a position in a company, employers tend to favourably consider applicants who possess extensive experience in life and the occupation. Furthermore, in terms of recreation, having a year to relax can be advantageous as students can have a chance to relieve stress in study. With a comfortable and willing attitude, undergraduates can acquire knowledge more effectively in comparison with those who go to university straightaway. Overall, it seems to me that working or traveling before students start their education in university is worth implementing because of the positive impacts such as valuable practice and relaxation for students who get stressed in studying. This is provided that students keep their interest in studying to ensure better academic performance in university.