Indvidual greed and selfishnesss have been the basis of modern society. Some people think that we must return to the older and more treaditional values of respect for the family and local community in order to create a better world to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a growing concern that the widespread of being selfish and greedy are increasingly becoming prevalent in modern society. It is argued that sticking to the values of respecting family and community is an essential trait one could have to improve our world. This essay strongly agrees that implementing virtues that make a difference in our families lives and community will influence the world we live in. Firstly ، having respect towards those who are close to us will reflect on many other aspects of life, and secondly, thinking of one self and wanting to have it all will negatively impact one's life. On the one hand, in our upbringing there are some qualities that some of us were lucky to have been introduced to, respect is one of the primary qualities that most families worldwide appreciate. Furthermore, respect is not merely a religous teaching most of us have learned growing up, it is more of a universal language that is thought of highly by most people, regardless of their social, and ethnicities differences. As if it was a human nature, everyone is drawn to respect. Also, one would not be able to have a respectful status in society without being taught respect growing up in the first place. Moreover, being respected in the community will push people to behave in the best way possible. To illustrate this, a study that was conducted by University of Toronto showed that as the level of respect increases in the community, people tend to engage in tasks that are more beneficial to society. Thus, respect have a positive impact on the world in general. On the other hand, being greedy and wanting to have all benefits for one self is the driving force behind modern societies who have forgotten moral values. For instance, some argue that young generations are not putting much effort to enhance the way they are treating elderly, this worrying trend will certainly reflect on every aspect of our daily lives. Moreover, being selfish will not only affect the way we treat family and community in general, it will increase the sense of individuality, gradually detachment from society will occur. In other words, the comradery sense in the society will be lost. In conclusion, it is vital to value respect for families and communities rather than greediness, thereby nurturing virtues is essential will make a remarkable impact on families, communities and world.