Education should be accessible to people of all economic backgrounds. All levels of education, from primary school to tertiary education, should be free. To what extent do you agree with this opinion

Certain people believe that education should be cost-free and accessible to the citizens of a country to all social orders. However, I believe that the government should take the responsibility of the free education till middle school only and other expenses should be waived off only on merit basis. To begin with, many countries are grappling with illiteracy because they are not able to attract the weaker sections of society to schools. These destitute people have to send their kids to earn wages in the early phase of their life leading to child labour. So, to reduce this the young kids have to be sent at schools and their school fees should be completely waived off to avoid any pressure on their families. It will help these families to access education free and could help them to earn more income when they learn any skill at school. A clear example is India where the government had implemented the law of free primary studies. This has helped a lot to eradicate poverty by improving the employability of such kids after school. On the contrary, it is really crucial to maintain a certain level of equality for all social backgrounds which can be done by merit based scholarship systems. Beyond the middle school, a child should be realized of the importance of excellence and achievements through creating a competitive system where students get scholarships when they perform better. To exemplify, in India, when a child reaches high school then he has to pay a minimal school fees but he can get any scholarship from the government based on his academic success. This promotes a holistic system for all pupils and maintain a level ground of competition for all. In conclusion, the elementary education has to be provided free to avoid children ending up in the child labour. However, after middle school, kids should be informed about the importance of achievement and promoting a merit based school system is really important.