Most people believe that social media such as Facebook and Instagram negatively impact on society and individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree

The vast majority of people think that social platforms like Facebook and Instagram have a negative effect on the individual and the society. I completely disagree with this because social network connects loved ones, enhances learning and creates employment. To begin with, Internet applications help people to stay in touch with their families and friends across the globe. This is because one can easily make a video call to communicate with their families abroad, without travelling long distances to visit them. For example, through WhatsApp, international students in Australia are able to communicate with their parents and friends back home. Hence, it strengthens family bond and prevents mental problems such as depression. In addition, social websites have improved education. This has made learning and acquisition of skills easy and convenient. Thus, one can be at the comfort of their homes and be learning online. To illustrate, during the Covid 19 pandemic, when schools were closed down, students were able to attend classes online. If there was no social media, it would have seriously affected their learning. Besides,it assists learners to do more research about their studies which help to broaden their knowledge. As a result, it improves academic performance. Moreover, Facebook and Instagram creates job opportunities for people. Companies advertise job vacancies on social media for people to apply. This has helped reduced Change the form of the verb reduce show examples the rate of unemployment in society. Consequently,it has helped to curbed criminal activities like armed robbery in the society. For instance, a research conducted by the Ghana Police Association, in 2022,stated that the rate of crimes has drastically reduced by 60%. Since the majority of the people are earning an income through social networks. This has made the society safe and peaceful from criminal activities. Also, through social media, individuals can come together in the development of the society such as building of schools, hospitals and roads. In conclusion, an increasing number of people believe that online websites have affected individuals and the society in a negative way. However, I strongly disagree because it bonds families and friends, improves education and creates job opportunities.