It is important for children to learn the differences between right and wrong at an early age.Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that punishment is crucial to teach children the distinction between right and wrong. However, I strongly disagree with this idea because sometimes punishment can cause trauma to children and damage relationships between family members. To begin with, certain kinds of punishment can be hazardous to an individual's emotional development. Especially in terms of verbal and physical punishment, it can severely traumatize children in a negative way so it can possibly affect the rest of their lives. A recent survey in the US showed that 70% of depression patients who visited a psychology clinic had experiences of verbal harassment from their parents when they were young. From this data, it is evident that even a few bad words can have a negative impact on their emotional growth. Not only the trauma of children but also the disruption of relationships can be accompanied by punishment. Once the communication goes wrong between children and parents, even the original intention of teaching is still remaining, it can severely damage the bonding between families. From my personal experience, when I was 18, I would like to stop talking to my mom no matter what, if she tries to punish me. Once the trust is broken, it is impossible to teach children the distinction between right and wrong regardless of its positive intention. To conclude, it is apparent that there are some advantages of punishment to teach children, it is evident that the disadvantages far outweigh the advantages because they can harm an individual's emotional growth and disrupt the family relationships.