Some people think that students should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community Do you agree or disagree?

There are some arguments about requiring students to help their neighborhood by doing volunteer works. From my perspective, I totally agree with this idea and strongly believe that this initiative could benefit both young generation and people living near by in many ways. Firstly, by doing chores, students could sharpen their soft skills. Learning by doing is widely accepted as the best method to gain new knowledge, especially for communication skills. By asking young ones to do social activities like visiting elder people or holding events for them, they eventually has stronger connection with other generations and then learn to engage with people in different ages. Seconly, spending leisure time in social works could keep young students away from unwanted addictions. Nowadays, children often prefer watching TV or surfing internet rather than hanging out with their friends or even family members. In the long term, those bad habits could lead to disconnect with real life and even become addictive with virtual worlds. If we could force them to dedicate their time to help communities or make contribution to development of surrounding areas, it could help them to pay more attention into what really happening in real life. Moreover, by doing that we could set good environments to nurture mankind and benevolence for our young generation. In conclusion, I would emphasize my approval for the idea of letting students to do unpaid job for their communities in their availability. That idea should be implemented in all around the world.