Some people say subjects like art, music, drama and creative writing are more beneficial for students and therefore they need more of these subjects included in the school timetable. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the reason why art -related subjects should be added into the school curriculum is because they give students more benefits. This writer agrees with this statement as these subjects enhance creative thinking and relieve stress although others hold the opposite view because they do not support academic learning. Central to the discussion point is subjects related to art can enhance creative thinking. Subjects such as creative writing, drama, music and art involve creativity because they require imagination to create artistic masterpieces. With regular practice of these subjects, art students’ creative thinking abilities will be developed as a result. This is evident in the development of children who draw many pictures, the complexity of pictures that they draw, as an evidence of their creativity, increases accordingly to the number of practices they have done. However, others reject the idea of inserting art -related subjects into schools’ timetables as they believe that they do not aid students in learning academic ones. They thought that these subjects involve skill that does not prove any relevance to their academic counterparts that mainly require logical thinking. This may be true, but most difficult questions of academic subjects need creative ways to find the ultimate solution. For example, some geometry exercises require a great deal of creative thinking to solve them. This writer believes that by adding subjects, for instance, music, art, creative writing and drama can reduce stress. As attending academic lectures is stressful due to the pressure to perform in a way that is accurate, learning subjects related to art can has the opposite effect because students are free to perform in a way that please them. By doing so, they will gradually reduce the stress after a day studying hard subjects. Taking all points into account, although artistic subjects may not support academic learning, they also benefit learners as a form of fostering creative thinking and stress reliever. Therefore, this author contends that these subjects should be inserted into schools’ timetables.