In many countries, governments spend significant resources on promoting national culture through festivals, museums, and public television programs. What are the advantages and disadvantages of governments promoting national culture?

In the globalization era, some traditional cultures are threatened to fade in time, hence why, the governments have been spending more budget to promote the national identity. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of spending significant resources for maintaining culture. Recently, the government has been planning their budget on film festivals, special museum exhibitions, and public television programs with the purpose to present their culture to a wider audience. This motivates local artists to promote themselves and imbuing their traditional roots through their creations. As an example, the government spent a big budget to sponsor for local film production to compete in the international film festival. Positively, not only this phenomenon creates international awareness of our country, but it also raises the pride of the national citizens when their culture is being represented internationally. Despite the benefits, there are several disadvantages that may backfire the original purpose. While it is true that it is important to prioritize the popularizing of a national identity, however, there are many priorities on the list that is neglected. In developing countries, people suggests that the economy should be concentrated on the well-being of citizens such as combatting poverty, education, and health systems. For instance, Soekarno, the former president of Indonesia spent an enormous budget on building historical statues instead of building infrastructure and distributing healthcare for the people. As a result, there was a great national dicourse and increased the numebr of oppositions because people were losing their trust in the government. In conclusion, while it is crucial to maintain the national culture, there has to be a balance in the amount of resources to be spent by the government, especially in regards to the priority list.