Some people believe that children should be banned from using their phones during the school day. Others believe that children should be allowed to use their phones. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

An argument appeared among people that phones are not allowed to be used by children during the school day but others believe the opposite. Gadgets during the school day can distract children from studying, but on the other hand, phones can be helpful for them to study with many advanced features. I believe the use of gadgets by children during school day should be benefited as long as parental control exists. Firstly, the idea of prohibiting children from using phones in school days is because it can distract them from studying or doing their homework. It has been a concern for people that excessive usage of phones by the young generation can be harmful. There is evidence that games and social media for instance, which are featured on phones, can influence children to excessive phone usage and lead them to neglect the value of study. On the other hand, the use of phones can be helpful for children to study with features in it. The access to the internet and some applications in current phones with high technology is considered helpful for children to study. For example, children can access any source of information required with an internet connection and there are a lot of applications available that can help children study such as the Ruang Guru application that consists of learning material which accessible easily or even a translation application. Hence, I believe that the use of phones can be a good development for children to help them study during the school day with parental supervision. The parent should control the use of phones by their children, in terms of purpose limitation and time limitation. Additionally, children should be advised and supervised that phones can be used during the school day only for study purposes and limit them to a particular time to prevent them from excessive use. In conclusion, the debate whether children should be allowed to use phones during the school day or not are still appeared in society. But I personally believe, with parental supervision, the use of phones can be an advantage in helping children study.