The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and solution of this disturbing trend.

In recent years, the number of unfit children in Western countries has been reported to rise unexpectedly in the last one decade. Therefore, in this essay, I will discuss some causes of why this happen and the solution to prevent it. With the advancement in technology, there has been much modification on food. This lead to the creativity of neglecting the quality of the food nutrients, including in producing confectionary food and snacks. However, children as consumers are unaware of the effect of consuming too much of them as the intake of artificial sweetener and other chemical ingredients will lead to obesity. Moreover, this situation is also supported by the other factor, such as the power of marketing. For instance, children choose to eat cereals for breakfast because the mascots create an exciting eating experience, yet they forget to realize that the sugar intake in cereal is far higher. However, there are a few concrete steps to prevent the increasing percentage of overweight children. Firstly, the government must provide a guidance regarding the necessary sugar intake for children at moderate rate. The second solution is restricting companies in using artificial sweetener in food manufacturing. Lastly, the government should create an effective campaign that will educate both parents and children about the dangers of eating processed foods and ensure that all parents understand this situation. In conclusion, while the trend of overweight children pose a threat to the future generation, some solutions like restricting artificial sugar in food production and providing guidance for sugar intake and campaign will absolutely prevent this case to happen beyond what is expected.