Some people think that secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects. While others believe that this is a waste of valuable school time. Do you agree or disagree?

There are different views on whether global news should be made a subject in secondary school or not. I think both sides of this trend are equally important, so it really depends on some factors. On the one hand, studying news around the world has the power to motivate future excellence in students. When schools make international news a subject in high school, they will be exposed to news that shapes the world today and inspires them to also make meaningful contributions in the future. For example, European children see African children on TV, in mass media, and on the internet, and they conclude that African children do not have enough food and water to eat and drink. Moreover, they do not go to school to study. When the children who live in developed countries know about the difficulties in the world, they try hard to help other children who live in undeveloped regions. It is the best side of international news studied as a subject in secondary school On the other hand, students do have direct benefits for their future careers if they study international news. Knowing information on current events, such as tsunamis or wars, may not provide clear skills to increase their chances of getting a good job. That's why some people think that it will be better if students spend their valuable time learning relevant studies, like math or science. Moreover, I do not think all students will be engineers or scientists. Learning about global news may grow their interest in journalism. In conclusion, while studying global news, it motivates them, but it does not exactly benefit students ' future careers.