Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that studying a subject which students are keen on should be obliged in universities, while others believe that students must study only beneficial subjects based on science or technology. In my opinion, considering all the benefits of studying a useful subject for students ’ future, if students follow their interests, it will be highly profitable for their lives. It is widely believed that one of the most important reasons for continue learning and study a subject which can lead to success is interest. Many successful people are not those who study useful subjects. For instance, we have some effective writers who graduated with a science-based major in university, like Harper Lee one of the most well-known writers who studied Law in university. On the other hand, some people believe that students should study a useful subject which is better for their future, especially science and technology-based subjects. This view is related to financial issues and job opportunities. As expected, studying technological and scientific subjects can help to find a profitable job in the future and it can guarantee a better social position. For example, doctors have an acceptable position and high income in my country. To sum up, although studying a profitable subject related to technology or science at university has more benefits such as high income and an acceptable position in society, in my perspective, if students study a subject which they are eager for it can be more helpful and effective for them.