In some countries around the world, there have been an increase in the number of parents who are choosing to educate their children themselves instead of sending them to school. Do the advantages of homeschooling education outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, in many countries, a growing number of parents decide to educate their kids at home. I believe the disadvantages corresponding to this issue are more considerable than the minor advantages. On the one hand, a potential advantage of homeschooling may be that it will provide a situation in which children can work at their own pace and parents can more easily respond to their children ’s needs and how they learn best. Another perceived benefit is that homeschooling might be a more convenient choice for families who live in isolated areas with poor transportation. In addition, some parents are not satisfied with local schools and they prefer to employ an expert teacher to educate their children. On the other hand, a primary disadvantage of homeschooling is that home-schooled children may lack social skills. At school children learn how to get on with each other, thus, homeschoolers will miss out on the social experience that school offers. A further negative is that private tutors are very expensive and many families fail to pay for them, consequently, they tend to teach their children by themselves. Since they do not have the adequate knowledge to do that, they are more likely to provide their kids with insufficient lessons which are normally taught by up to ten different teachers at school. Therefore, it is best for children to study at school where they are offered a better overall educational experience. On balance, it is true that homeschooling would seem advantageous under certain circumstances, however, in my view, its negative effects in terms of lack of social experience and deprivation of a sufficient educational system override the advantages.