Sport continues to be a controversial topic in the school curriculum, just as sport itselfhas become a controversial industry in some respects.

Sport, whether in educational program or sport itself, continues to be controversial in several aspects. I personally believe, would bring about more significant disadvantages that I will explain why. One significant disadvantage of this issue might be that sport uses up time which could be better spent on academic subjects such as exam preparation. In addition, it might be said that it is unwise to force children to do activities which they have no interest in. After all, some youngsters are just not sporty, and should be allowed to study instead. Finally, there are question marks over the wholesomeness of sport itself, with drugging and corruption scandals increasingly common, as we see in cycling at present. It seems that this lack of morals sets a poor example to young people. On the other hand, though, one major benefit of sport is that it helps children’s physical development at an important stage. If all their time was spent studying, they would become unfit and their minds would eventually suffer. Furthermore, it is believed that the importance of team building in sports such as football or hockey, which is often felt to be an excellent preparation for adulthood. Finally, having a competitive spirit is so important today and is fostered by sport at an early age. It is notable, for example, that many successful business people excelled in sport at school. To conclude, although this issue seems beneficial to some extent, I would argue that sport consumes an amount of time which could be better spent on academic subjects such as exam preparation. Besides, it might be said that it is unwise to force children to do activities which they have no interest in. Thus, this outweighs its potential benefits.