Topic: The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

The damage to the natural environment increased alongside with the growth of consumer goods production. Product packaging wastes and the unprocessed chemical materials involved in production processes are the main key factors why this issue happened. Government involvement is crucial in solving this issue by establishing sets of regulations to govern the consumer goods industry. The production of consumer products ruins the environment due to two main reasons, namely unrecyclable packaging and the involvement of multiple chemical products throughout the manufacturing processes. Hard-to-recycle packaging, such as cans from soda products, will end up in a landfill up to a hundred years before it dissolves. Tons of canned waste will damage the soil as well as the air around the landfill. Furthermore, several chemical materials utilized during the production are not well managed and neutralized. Usually, these chemical wastes will be thrown directly into the river, thus impacting the water quality. The government plays an important role in solving this issue. Sets of regulations can be established to govern the consumer goods industry, starting from raw material preparation to waste management. For instance, national authorities can set the standard on the type of waste and percentage of remaining particular chemicals that are allowed to be dumped into the environment, such as limiting the percentage of PET to around 3% in the waste. Water pollution can be highly suppressed if these regulations are successfully applied to all consumer product manufacturers. Rapidly increased consumer goods production impacts the stability of nature, mainly due to the recyclable packaging and unneutralized chemical products involved in the production processes. I believe that the government should implement sets of regulations to solve this issue.