The movement of people from agricultural areas to big cities has caused many problems at both places. What are the reasons of this problem and how can it be solved?

It is well-known that in some parts of the world a significant decline in the countryside population and growth of urban habitats noticed within the last decades. This relocation has a detrimental effect on both cities and rural areas as it is undermining agricultural productivity and putting enormous pressure on urban infrastructure. People are moving to big cities for a better life and educational opportunities for their kids. Therefore this aspect needs to be addressed in order to solve this problem. The main reason for this relocation is that people believe that cities provide better chances for their children to get a university degree and a well-paid job in the future. For instance, in New Zealand, according to the latest industry report, the majority of students of level 3 and level 4 courses, which are the main source of entry-level positions in many industries, are from the rural areas, not going to return back to their home regions and keen to stay in Auckland permanently. Consequently, to tackle this problem, the same aspect needs to be addressed. Governments should build more colleges and professional institutes in the countryside. If juveniles have the opportunity to study and gain a qualification in their country, they will most probably settle there and have a greater chance to get a job or set up their small business there. In conclusion, to deal with the increasing movement of the rural population into cities, creating education and development opportunities for youth in rural areas is the most effective method to keep countryside population.