In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undeniable that nowadays people are experiencing a last longer life, comparing to the past. While some people believe that facing this phenomenon turns out various problems for governments, other argue that having more the older brings advantages to society. This essay will examined both views in the following paragraphs before the conclusion is reached. On the one hand, the increasing of life expectancy has two main benefits, which consists of chasing own dream and living longer with offsprings. One clear merit of it is elderly people are able to continue doing business as they have sufficient time for managing their firms or in career pathway. To illustrate, the older enhance to get more incomes from this circumstance. Another one is that residents around the world can spend more time with their family, which is not only the child but also offsprings. For instance, many grandmothers or grandfathers require to see or raise an infancy of the family in the entire period. On the other hand, this statement also offers a negative result, especially to the governments. Firstly, due to a higher population, it affects to overcrowding citizens in the world, resulting in economic problem. Moreover, geriatrics may stressed and get depression eventually as if they are surrounding by next generations or if their same ages are passed away. These could be a serious effects to authourities tackling this situation. In conclusion, In my perspective, having an ageing population leads more advantages outweigh the drawbacks. In addition, governments ought to struggle this by providing social welfare, mental health service, or adding other obligations for geriatrics.