In the past, parents used to give their children a great deal of freedom. Parents today, however, tend to be much more restrictive. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Plenty of freedom was given to children by their parents in the old times, whereas in modern times, they are likely to become totally opposite. After considering a surge in crime rate and a sense of prevailing competition in society, this move of parents can certainly be seen as a positive development. This essay will delve deeper into these points in the impending paragraphs. To begin with, the primary reason why parents are now tending to be stricter is because the criminal activities related to children have suddenly increased compared to the past. To elucidate, if parents do not acknowledge the location and movement of their offspring, it will be easy for criminals to kidnap or molest them. For example, the Crime Investigation Department of the UK, submitted in its annual report in March 2017 that no sooner did parents decrease the freedom of their children than there was a 55% decrease in the cases of child molestation and kidnapping. Hence, implementing the strict restrictions before leaving home such as a set time schedule to return home and a proper watch work as a safeguard for children. Having said that, due to the competitive scenario of the world, parents put hard restrictions to save the leakage of precious time for their children. The distractions like mobile phones, games and TV may steal the study time of children and can result adversely on their academic performance. To substantiate, a painstaking research conducted by The Guardian Newspaper in May 2015 revealed that 85% of children scored good marks because their parents put hard restrictions on the usage of mobile phones and watching TV. Therefore, a prohibiting nature towards children is necessary to be adopted by the parents to ensure a safe environment for their growth. To conclude, it is unequivocal that because of saving their children ’s academic and physical nurturance, more restrictions on their independence than in old times from the parents is a welcoming phenomenon.