In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that in certain countries, children are educated by parents or guardians that they can get anything they want in life if they work hard enough. While I understand that this phenomenon can bring about some beneficial impacts, its negative implications are undeniable. Those who advocates that children should be encouraged to give it their best to achieve what they want in life may have several arguments. They may well argue that it gives children motivation when they do any task that are given. Indeed, evidence for this can be seen in school where children are extremely competitive in academic factors or even general ones. Once they see that their friends have a higher score, or a greater achievement in a sport competition, they will certainly try to beat those result and with the mindset that are given by their parents, they will try as hard as they could. As a result, no matter the final conclusion is, they will feel satisfied as they have given it their best effort in something that they want. Another point worth mentioning is that this kind of encouragement is attributable to children’ confidence. In some psychological research, they show that children who are mentally supported by parents tend to be more confident when performing at school and later on, at work. This might be due to the fact that they believe in themselves more than others who are not mentally supported; therefore, they might gain more achievement thanks to these supports. Despite the aforementioned valid reasons, this trend can still be disadvantageous. Specifically, this advice might give children unrealistic expectation in life. This might be because that children need to be well aware of what their real ability is in order to be successful in this competitive society. For example, if a student has a gift for music, but she wants to be the best in math although her math score is always B or C; parents should guide her to the right direction, nurture her real talent by asking her to pursuit music career instead of being stubborn and keep studying math until it is too late to do over. In conclusion, telling children that they can get anything they want as long as they try hard enough could bring some positive implications. However, its detrimental effects are unavoidable.