Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governemnts to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

The main problem with making legal something as transient and micro-sized as recycling lays on the shift of responsibilities to the individuals for issue as big as environmental crisis. If this is implemented, it indicates the further atomization of interconnected and complex issues by the government. Who, in doing so, is taking a step back in governing and doing some real actions. I now will elaborate this further. First, recycling, although considered a morally and theoritically good deed to do, has its own problem when it is not accompanied by the first two Rs -- namely Reduce and Reuse. As we have to take into account the whole of post-consumption cycle, furthering only one specific set of action while ignoring the others means an incomplete reading of the root problem: the increase of carbon emissions and wastes. Consequently this explains why such 'action' of recycling, or lack of real action thereof, is often presenting itself as the solution that an individual can do to help alleviate the environmental burden. Equally as important is the illusion of doing something 'good' while not eliminating (Reduce or Reuse) the objects of emissions in the first place. Making recycling a mandatory act for atomized families or individuals to do is the same as to say that it is okay for you to spend and consume as much, so long as those commodities are 'recycled'. Therefore, if laws regarding environmental health and responsibilities are planned to be implemented, I strongly believe that it should always consider the whole system of environmental protection, including its relationship with other aspects like politics, social, and economic factors. One, especially the government, should not leave out other important things outside the boundary of said problems, just because it makes it easier to let go of bigger responsibilities they should have taken in the first place.