Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It has been seen that most of the crimes occurring around are being done by repeat offenders. The main reason behind this is that prisons are not seen as rehabilitation centers but just for mere incarceration. Also, the second factor would be that they get to connect with fellow criminal minds or in other words, get badly influenced by offenders. To tackle this, a reformation system should be utilized to rehabilitate these people. The following paragraphs will discuss it in detail. Our justice system only cares about "an eye for an eye" and this is the reason that they only want to punish the criminal rather than study why is it so that they chose to do the malafide act and didn't think of consequences. Due to this, the offenders don't think that their act was wrong and believe that they are justified and develop vengeance instead of developing their mental health. The connection they make during their incarceration also negatively affects them as they get influenced by wrong people and want to gain their respect by doing some further terrible act. Furthermore, another important factor contributing to this would be that prison makes them poor. To elaborate this, while being in jail for all these years their financial status gets adversely affected and when they get out they are not able to secure a job or get themselves a financially stable life. To rectify this, the Government should take initiatives like providing jobs to criminals while they are in jail so that they can earn wages and get a secure life after getting out in the future. Also, education or counseling is a big factor that could heal the minds of the offenders as it would make them know of the consequences and make them believe that the punishment is justified as they committed a crime. To conclude it, There is a need to transform the justice system by making the prison system a reformation center for prisoners to think of what mistakes they made that let them in a cell and how to make changes in their lives accordingly to not walk the same path again.