It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The average human is shaped mentally to who they are in the present day from an early age, including when they were a child. This is because how those years of human life are when the human brain starts to develop rapidly to input information and shape the mentality of each individual, including morality. Morality is humans' mental capability to differentiate between what is right and wrong, thus children need to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. There are many methods and tools that parents and teachers can take to teach children about right and wrong. One of them is to use punishment when necessary. Punishment is the act of inflicting physical or mental discomfort as a result of an unwanted outcome, such as bad behaviour in children. When used correctly, punishment can be an effective tool to teach children what's right and wrong. This is caused by the human nature of reacting to causality. If children get punished because of the way they behave, they will see the behaviour as a cause for the punishment, thus leading to avoidance of such behaviour and even leading to the "taboofication" (Bad = morally disgusting, must avoid) of such behaviour in the children's brain. This way, children can learn morals faster. Although this is the case, the methods of punishment must be regulated to avoid cases of child abuse. The sort of punishment that is allowed to be used should inflict minimum pain physically and mentally, such as a short period of phone confiscation, or punishments that can lead to a productive life, such as enforcing chores.