Nowadays many people have easy access to computers and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games? What can be done about this problem?

In the past few decades, there has been a tremendous increase in the number of children playing computer games. A negative impact of this worrying trend is its effect on the physical and mental health of young children. However, there are solutions readily available to tackle this issue, such as reducing the time a child is allowed to spend playing video games. To begin, there is an argument to be made that computer games can be detrimental to a child’s development. To illustrate this point, a study conducted in Hong Kong found that playing too many computer games can lead to increased anxiety and depression in players. For this reason, it is clearly evident that the use of video games can have debilitating effects on its users, as it alters their mental well-being. Moreover, according to ample statistical data, the overuse of electronic games leads to a significant increase in heart rates and blood pressure in young players, as a result of too much excitement and stress. This being the case, it is not unreasonable to assume that if there is no intervention governing the use of computer games, children will develop significant health problems. In order to resolve this troubling issue, one viable solution would be for the government to educate parents on the appropriate allowance of time spent playing video games for their children. For instance, schools in Denmark created information leaflets for parents outlining the consequences of video gaming and that children should not play them for longer than one hour a day. Therefore, it is hardly surprising why Denmark has one of the lowest rates of anxiety amongst children, as they are forced to stop playing on electronic devices after a short period of time. Furthermore, encouraging more outdoor activities can also aid in battling online gaming addiction, as it introduces children to different types of adventures. With this in mind, there is no doubt that if parents actively worked to limit their children ’s video gaming hours, there would be less chance of developing addiction. To conclude from the aforementioned discussion, the overwhelming evidence seems to suggest that the overuse of computer games can negatively impact a child’s health. However, it is still possible to turn the tide by encouraging parents to limit online playtime and introduce children to more outdoor-related activities and games.