In recent years, more and more people tend to live individually. What are the causes of this trend? Does this have a positive or negative effect on society?

Nowadays, a vast number of people prefer to have a solitary life due to several reasons, such as: the high cost of living, failure in marriages in society, and higher workloads preventing people from socializing. All these would be negatively impactful in the future as the country will experience negative natality. Factually, due to inflation, the cost of living is getting higher and higher each year. One example is the price of a landed house or a flat which becomes less affordable to buy, with about 10% increase year on year. Clothing and food prices hike drastically as well, as a result of global warming and natural disasters. A clear example is that previously the price of rice was no more than 10.000 rupiahs, now it exceeds 15.000 rupiahs. Another reason is the reality existing in our community that marriages fail and divorces have become more common in recent years. Surprisingly, finance is one of the main reasons for this failure. In the media, it has become common to find actors or artists who have a divorce. This results in the fear of youths taking a step into the marital life. Last but not least, the heavy workloads that workers have, prevent them from having a social life. the burden hinders them from having dates or hanging out owing to the exhaustion that they experience once they have finished work. On weekends, they also prefer having a rest at home, doing their hobbies or playing games to fulfil their needs for entertainment. To sum up, because of the increased living cost, failure in relationships and too much work at work, the majority of people would rather stay single than be in a relationship. The negative impact is that the ageing population will not be replaced by younger generations as the natality is minus.