Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

One of the key challenges all authorities face nowadays is the dilemma of budget split. While some people believe that the government should invest in the arts, others would expect public services to be supported first. No doubt, that priorities can vary among the countries, as the needs of developed states can be different from those of developing ones, however, I tend to agree that basic needs should be prioritized in each region and investments in community facilities should benefit all the citizens, although arts can be self-sustaining. Bread and circuses worked in ancient Rome, though today people expect much more from their authorities. First of all, society has a responsibility to ensure an acceptable level of living for its residents, as hungry or ill individuals can hardly enjoy even an outstanding performance or piece of music. The aforementioned is substantially relevant in developing countries, such as Africa for instance, where people are starving and suffering from a lack of medicine, which is why the government’s support of the community is reasonable. Do whatever you are good at, and money will come. This can work perfectly with art. For example, the show industry is a very profitable business, albeit not everyone can afford its expensive cost. Nevertheless, this situation is acceptable, as, in a worst-case scenario, the public can use other alternatives without any consequences. But the situation is different when it comes to health care or education. In this case, governments should ensure that basic services are affordable for every individual, and subsidy the wealthless population if needed. To conclude, I agree with the position, that it is the government's responsibility to invest money wisely and support the citizens with the appropriate level of public services, such as education or medicine for example, whereas art should be managed as a business and be responsible for its profitability.